Inside the Hermit Kingdom: The 1884 Korea Travel Journal of George Clayton Foulk
America's Man in Korea: The Private Letters of George C. Foulk, 1884-1887
Navy ensign George Foulk made a 900-mile journey through southern Korea during which he kept a detailed record of everything he observed and experienced. This travel diary, part of the George Clayton Foulk collection in the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley, has been almost entirely overlooked by scholars and yet is of inestimable value.

First, it is an account of a trip no Westerner had ever undertaken before or would ever experience again: a long-distance sedan chair journey in the manner of a Choson-dynasty government official. Containing his private thoughts, penned in the heat of the moment, Foulk's diary is immediate, raw, and honest, laying bare his experience. It gives readers is a superbly descriptive and perceptive record of Korea. Inside the Hermit Kingdom stands unique as a firsthand account of the kingdom of Choson in its pristine condition, before the intrusion of the outside world.

America's Man in Korea is the story of America's initial involvement in Korea as told through the private family letters of U.S. Navy ensign George Clayton Foulk, Washington's representative in Seoul in the mid-1880s. "The Hermit Kingdom," as Korea was known, was no ordinary diplomatic posting at this time. Emerging from centuries of self-imposed isolation, Korea was struggling to establish itself as an independent nation amid the imperial rivalries of China, Japan, England, and Russia; anti-foreign violence remained a simmering threat; the Korean government was a hotbed of intrigue and factional strife, its monarch King Kojong casting about for help. Foulk, fluent in Korean and the foremost western expert on the country, was an astute observer of this country's transformation. In his private letters, published here for the first time, Foulk recounts his struggle to represent the U.S. and to help Korea in the face of State Department indifference.

The story of Korea
by Joseph H. Longford. With 33 illustrations and three maps.

This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfections such as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important, and despite the imperfections, have elected to bring it back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide. We appreciate your understanding of the imperfections in the preservation process, and hope you enjoy this valuable book.



Joseph Henry Longford (25 June 1849 in Dublin – 12 May 1925 in London) was a British consular official in the British Japan Consular Service from 24 February 1869 until 15 August 1902. He was Consul in Formosa (1895-7) after the First Sino-Japanese War and at Nagasaki (1897–1902).

After retiring from the service he became the first Professor of Japanese at King's College London until 1916, and then an emeritus professor of the University of London. He was awarded a D.Litt. by his alma mater, Queen's University of Belfast in 1919.

Although not in the front rank of British Japanologists in the 19th century occupied by Ernest Satow, Basil Hall Chamberlain, William George Aston and arguably Frederick Victor Dickins, he did make a notable contribution in the field of early Japanese studies.

The story of Korea

The Calligrapher's Daughter. New York
Henry Holt and Company. 2009. pp. 386. ISBN 978-0-8050-8912-7

The Calligrapher's Daughter, won the 2009 Borders Original Voices Award for Fiction,[1] and was shortlisted for the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Eugenia Kim (born 1952) is a Korean American writer and novelist who lives in Washington, DC.

In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother—but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country.

When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king’s court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world.

As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher’s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

The Calligrapher's Daughter

Korea Caught in Time by Terry Bennett

Imprint: Garnet
Authors: Terry Bennett
Co-editors: Martin Uden
ISBN: 9781859642214
Binding: Paperback
Publication Date: June 2011

East Asian photography historian Terry Bennett blesses us with a paperback reprint of his woefully rare 1998 hardcover photo journal Korea: Caught in Time. A satisfying serving of some the earliest surviving prints on Korea, Bennett graciously but briefly narrates some of the stories behind the photos from his impressive private collection. Featuring a concise and informative introduction by former British Ambassador to Korea Martin Uden, this excellent compilation is one of the few of its kind. In addition to the varied subjects and locations included from the author's collection, this photo book is also sparingly padded with various prints from other public and private collections that span from the 1870s to the early 1900s.

The book begins with a contextual background on Korea's international state of affairs prior to the introduction of the camera by foreigners. The meat of the book, though, is but only sprinkled with relevant background knowledge and instead favors a photographic exposé approach. This contrasts the compendium storytelling of Donald Clark's Missionary Photography in Korea or even John Rich's jaw-droppingly stunning Korean War in Color. Bennett's collection is more fundamental than these other photo journals; it tells what little remains of the earliest photographs of Korea. According to Bennett, pickings were slim for the time: "It is no exaggeration to say [...] that for every one Korean print dating from the 1880s, I would expect to see 500 Japanese prints. That ratio for the 1870s would be worse, and 1860s Korean prints may be non-existent." (p.18). Considering the scarcity of surviving photos, urban myths, general public misunderstanding about the photographic process, and the prevalence of non-Korean photographers, it's a wonder how Bennett was even able to accumulate the collection we have here.

Bennett's extensive knowledge of photography in Japan, China and Korea coalesce in this generous collection. It's definitively niche, but it's good niche; it's a historically significant collection that deserves to be printed. My only gripe is that it's only 144 pages and can be effortlessly finished in a single sitting. True to form, though, there are several prints that the reader will not only stare at, but also come back to admire; characteristics of a good collection, indeed. For those with an interest in late nineteenth and early twentieth century Korea, this book is worth the price of admission.

Author: Dr Jon Carter Covell, Published by: Weatherhill
Specifications: 122pp. 18x24cm. 35 color plates. 196 b/w plates. hardcover.

page from Jon Carter Covell's Korea's Cultural Roots (1980, Hollym), showing a small part of a painting that she photographed at the Emille Museum. It is still a wonderful book that was my own introduction to this motif, and in general my initial inspiration for all these years of studying traditional Korean spiritual culture.

This is a book for anyone fascinated with Asian culture. Dr. Jon Carter Covell, Japanese and Korean art history scholar, makes you enjoy the book and be unfamiliar with the Korean culture. The book is divided into three parts: Shaman Roots, Buddhist Roots, and Neo-Confucian Roots. The headings may sound academic, but the subjects are very interesting and written for the layman.

Shaman Roots will be intriguing. It explained the history and significance of the Korean reindeer with the golden antlers, also known as the famous Silla golden crown. You will be also interested by the chapter on long life goals - the Koreans have ten symbols of longevity. Korea's set of longevity symbols are more numerous and somewhat different from China's and Japan's and elicit much attention in Korean art. Included are separate chapters on evil-repelling symbols, good luck symbols, and special spirits.



Korean Impact On Japanese Culture
Publisher: Hollym International Corporation
Product Dimensions: 9.4 x 7.2 x 0.5 inches

This book probes into subjects still frowned upon in Tokyo; it explores a few "skeletons in the imperial closet." A half century ago this subject brought authors to prison or death. Using tools such as archeology, stylistic analysis, Japan's sacred scriptures themselves, its imperial line is here traced back to Korean origins, its legitimacy established by an iron sword from Paekche kept inaccessible at Iso-no-Kami) with a gold inscription, which dates Japan's founding ruler from 369 A.D., rather than orthodoxy's 660 B.C.

"Japanese culture," up to the eighth century, derived primarily from Korea--whether it was music, landscape gardening, textiles, ceramics, or major masterpieces of architecture, sculpture, and painting. Top "National Treasures" of Japan either came from Korea or were sponsored by Korean-descended aristocrats, such as the famed Shotoku Taishi, who imported artists and Buddhist priests to the islands.


BLINK MAGAZINEb issue 3 cover



BLINK MAGAZINEb issue 15 back august 2012

BLINK features the latest exhibitions and artists in the international contemporary photography spotlight. A straightforward layout, high quality offset printing, no advertising, in-depth interviews with artists in English.

BLINK is a distinctive photography magazine features fresh work by contemporary artists, published monthly. but it is not just a typical magazine. it is more like monthly artist book project. the magazine serves as exhibition space that embraces every aspect of photography. We send the magazine to Galleries in US, Europe, Japan, China, Aus. BLINK support artists whom BLINK loves and the magazine works such as their showcase or portfolio, small exhibition space. BLINK never stop to promotes artists we support forever.

BLINK MAGAZINE



GRAPHIC(ISSN 1975-7905) is a quarterly magazine published in Seoul, Korea. GRAPHIC, which was first published in January 2006, focuses its attention on the other trends of graphic design which is different from the mainstream of it and on the phenomena thereof. It has a characteristic of in-depth approach for one theme with the editorial policy of one issue-one theme.

GRAPHIC







ⓒ copyrights 2003-2016 Designersparty, all rights reserved. all material published remains the exclusive copyright of Designersparty.